Green list countries: Which nations are on the UK government’s green travel list and what does it mean for quarantining?

Portugal, Gibraltar and Israel are among the countries and territories people will be able to visit without quarantining on their return to the UK, the government has said.

As England goes into the next phase of the roadmap out of lockdown on 17 May, a traffic light system that categorises countries based on their COVID-19 risk levels has been drawn up.

What does it mean for travellers?

Green List:

Travellers returning from a country on that list will not need to quarantine, and will only be required to take one post-arrival test.

It consists of Portugal, Gibraltar, Israel, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Brunei, Iceland and the Faroe Islands, plus several small remote islands that are British Overseas Territories.

However, entry to Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Brunei and the Faroe Islands is severely restricted.

Portugal plans to welcome UK tourists who have had a recent negative test, have recovered from the virus and therefore have antibodies, or had both doses of a vaccine.

Gibraltar will not require UK visitors to be tested or vaccinated, whereas Israel will initially reopen its border on 23 May only to groups of foreign tourists who have had both jabs.

Amber List:

That covers the most popular UK holiday destinations such as Spain, France, Italy and Greece.

Transport secretary Grant Shapps said "you should not be travelling to these places right now".

Those who go against that guidance must take two post-arrival tests.

They are also required to self-isolate at home for 10 days, although they can reduce that time if they take an additional negative test on day-five.

Red List:

Among the countries on the red list are Brazil, India, South Africa and the United Arab Emirates.

Turkey and the Maldives will be added to the red list on Wednesday 12 May.

Those returning from a red list country must stay in a quarantine hotel for 11 nights at a cost of £1,750.

This is the full green list:





New Zealand



Faroe Islands

Tristan Da Cunha

St Helena


Falkland Islands


South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

The lists can be amended at any time, but wholesale changes are not expected to occur until the situation is reviewed at a "checkpoint" on 28 June.

Can people living in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland go on a foreign holiday?

The devolved administrations of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have not set dates for the restart of overseas leisure travel, although announcements are expected in the coming days.

Mr Shapps said there was "a large degree of agreement and cooperation in developing the system".

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap